Copythorne Parish Council for the communities of • Bartley • Cadnam • Copythorne • Newbridge • Ower • Winsor

Bulletins and News


June 2015 Bulletin

Parish Council elections

The Parish Council welcomes two new members, Sarah Coombs and Steve Herra, following the elections last month.  Existing members John Goodwin, Lady Kara Hawks, Mike Moriarty and Joe Reilly have all been re-elected. 


There is still a vacancy in the South Ward which will be filled by co-option at the Council meeting on 23 June.  Any local residents interested in joining the Parish Council are invited to apply in writing to the Parish Clerk by 15 June.  Applicants should provide details of their background and interests and what they feel they can bring to the Council.

The Council also extends its thanks to retiring members Stuart Bullen-Jarvis, Geraint James and Charlotte Riddoch.  Geraint served for 15 years and served two periods as Chairman and one of Vice-Chairman.


Community Transport

As mentioned last month, there are a number of alternative community transport facilities available to Copythorne residents to supplement declining bus services. 
In addition to those previously listed, transport can also be provided by Totton Communicare and Lyndhurst Neighbourcare.  Full details are available from the Parish Clerk or can be found on the parish website.


Parish Council grants

The Parish Council has a modest annual grant budget to assist local groups and organisations with small projects.  The grants are intended to help with new initiatives rather than general running costs.  Applications are considered three times a year and the application deadline for the next round is 30 June 2015.  Further details on the grant policy and an application form can be obtained from the Parish Clerk or from the Council’s website.


Speed limits

As reported last month, speed limit proposals have been made for Winsor Lane, Barrow Hill Road and through Newbridge.  The Police have now said that they support a Parish Council request for the whole length of Barrow Hill Road to be covered by a 30 mph limit and hopefully this will be confirmed in due course.

In the meantime, further informal proposals have been published for the section of the A36 (Romsey Road) through Ower.  A 40 mph limit is proposed southwards from the Ower roundabout and also for the whole of Old Salisbury Road (next to The Vine Inn).  In addition, a 50 mph limit is proposed for Romsey Road (A31) from its junction with the A36 to the existing 40 mph limit near The Empress of Blandings. 


More details will be available when Hampshire County formally publishes the proposals.


Cycling Strategy

Hampshire County Council has published a draft cycling strategy for public consultation.  As well as providing a clear statement on the Council’s overall aspirations for cycling, the document covers a wide range of topics including tourism, health and wellbeing, recreation, sport and infrastructure. 


The County Council would like to hear the views of everyone who uses the roads, including cyclists, drivers, pedestrians and public transport passengers.  The strategy can be found on the HCC website at


The closing date for comments is Wednesday 29 July.


Changes to Recycling Centre hours

Opening hours at Hampshire’s 24 Household Waste Recycling Centres are changing.  The centres will still be open seven days a week but will now open an hour later and close an hour earlier in the summer.  Opening times are now:

1 April to 30 September:     9 am – 6 pm
1 October to 28 February:   9 am – 4 pm
1 March to 31 March:         9 am – 5 pm

The changes follow a consultation during the summer of 2014 with over 6000 respondents.  The alterations will save over £150,000 this financial year and make running the service more effective.



The Parish Council discusses all planning applications at each of its meetings – on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of the month.  If you think you may be affected by an application, the Council would be pleased to hear your views to help form a response to the planning authority (either the New Forest National Park Authority or New Forest District Council). 


Comments can be made to the Parish Council either by letter or in person in the public participation session at the start of each meeting.  Applications due to be considered at the next meeting can be found by clicking on Planning on the top menu on the Council’s website at

Planning is an important topic in any community and the Parish Council is always anxious that any development should comply fully with local policies.  Applicants are encouraged to use the pre-application advice service offered by both the New Forest National Park Authority and New Forest District Council.


Parish Council meetings

Parish Council meeting dates will vary slightly in May as a result of the forthcoming elections.  The next full Council meeting is the AGM on Wednesday 20 May followed by a Planning meeting on Tuesday 26 May.  Thereafter, the meetings will revert to the regular pattern of 2nd and 4th Tuesdays (Planning and monthly meeting respectively).  The next few meeting dates (all at 7 pm in the rear extension of the Parish Hall) are therefore:


        Tuesday 9 June 2015                   Planning
        Tuesday 23 June 2015                 Council

Tuesday 14 July 2015                  Planning

The Clerk to the Council (Mike Derrick) can be contacted at

3 Chichester Close,

East Wellow,


SO51 6EY. 

Telephone and fax 01794 322080,



Details of individual Parish Councillors can also be found on the parish website.


Bookmark with BlinkListDel.icio.usDigg FacebookMySpaceRedditStumble UponTwitterWindows LiveBookmarkWhat are these?