The Parish of Copythorne in the New Forest includes the communities of Bartley, Cadnam, Newbridge, Ower and Winsor. Here are some brief details about the Parish Council:


To represent the local population at grass roots level

To consider and comment on planning applications to the local planning authority

To make representations to the appropriate authorities on matters concerning the parish, including the condition of roads and footpaths, traffic issues, planning policies and local services generally

To agree an annual budget and the annual parish precept

(From its budget the Council makes annual grants to a number of local organisations)


The Parish Council meets once a month on the second Tuesday of each month (except August).

There will be public participation sessions at the start of proceedings (7 pm prompt) when residents may make statements or ask questions about any matter affecting the Parish.

(see Meeting Schedule)


The Council consists of seven members who are elected every four years (the next elections are due in May 2023). The Chairman and Vice-Chairman are appointed annually (see Councillors)


The Council employs a part-time Clerk